Need More Asian Rep in Your Playlist? We've Got You Covered. 

04/06/2018

This led me to enter spaces like concert venues and events being one of the only Asian-American people in the room, and many times the only person of color.

By Kiana Fernandez 

That sense of connection with a certain song or artist is something that has always been special to me. While it was very easy for me to find music that I liked, the songs were mainly made by musicians who were white. This led me to enter spaces like concert venues and events being one of the only Asian-American people in the room, and many times the only person of color. While I have eventually started to overcome this feeling of racial isolation and discomfort in these spaces, I still yearned for more representation in the music scene

Last year, I joined the local college radio station 91.7 KVRX. I have a show every Friday morning from 1a.m. to 2 a.m. called "DWA: DJ'ing While Asian". Each week, we focus on a different Asian country and play music by artists from that region. By doing this I not only have the opportunity to explore music by a diverse amount of artists, but I am also able to share this music with the public. Just by researching and seeking out these artists and bands, I have been introduced to so much cool music, so many great Asian musicians, and different opportunities to go to their shows.

Several album covers from the playlist
Several album covers from the playlist

I have cultivated an Asian Artist Starter Kit playlist for anyone who wants to get to know more Asian musicians or just wants to have some good listening. Some artists and bands on this list are more well-known such as Karen O from the Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs and Mitski, but there are also some lesser known bands from countries such as the Philippines and Japan. Enjoy!

All photos are copyright free

Kiana Fernandez is a sophomore advertising student at the University of Texas at Austin.

Asian Experience Magazine
All rights reserved 2017
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started